My introduction

Hello. My name is Robert Ituarte. I retired from the United States Air Force after 24 years dealing in customer service. I’m currently pursuing my degree in Homeland Security Emergency Management through UAF. My family and I moved from Alaska across the country to Virginia within the past year via two cars, six people, a dog and two hitchhiking turtles. I’ll continue being a student with UAF while in VA. My quest for a continued challenge and to get out of my comfort zone has brought me to this class.

My relationship in art is basically encouraging my 4 teenagers (3 girls and a boy) to pursue something I haven’t for many years. Listening to music is a big part of our home. From classical (while I study) to going to my youngest performances at school. My oldest enjoys dancing. My son and second oldest both enjoy drawing and creating things with their hands. I used to draw and tend to get back into it from time to time. But my passion is creating dishes in the kitchen. I attempted to take up piano for a while but put it off for now. As a family, we create our own movies by play acting our favorite scenes. Then my son takes pictures and provides us with some great collages. I had the opportunity to live in Italy for six years and see some beautiful architecture and museums with master pieces. Michelangelo’s work is my favorite to view read about. I enjoy the history behind his work for the Medici family.

Good luck to you all.

2 thoughts on “My introduction

  1. If you like the backstory of the Medici’s and Michelangelo, you’re going to have fun with this class. We will be exploring all sorts of relationships in politics, religion, and science that influence the arts throughout history.

    Like

  2. Hi Robert,
    I am also intrigued with the House of Medici — they were such a powerful family and their influence on the fine arts in Italy (and in the world, for that matter) is incredible!

    Looking forward to the class with you. Also, I think its super great that you are encouraging your kids to embrace different forms of art as they grow up 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment